Almond Milk Recipe (For Hurom Juicer) and (For Vitamix)

Standard

I wanted to see how well my new juicer worked for making Raw Almond Milk, since it touts that as being one of the things that it can do (and quite honestly, that’s one of the things that drew me to this juicer). So yesterday morning I soaked my almonds, and by 7PM they were ready to go. I was really surprised by how easily my juicer handled this task, and how good the nut milk turned out in it too.

I also own a Vitamix, and I know that I can make almond milk in it as well, but I have to say – the juicer makes easier work of it, since the vast majority of the pulp is removed into the pulp bin. So what’s left to squeeze out, is a small amount of whiter looking pulp, that’s much finer in texture than the pulp that’s already been put into the bin.

I used Blue Diamond’s Natural Almonds to make my nut milk with, but can also purchase them in bulk (probably for cheaper) next week when we go on our monthly shopping trip. In any event, both versions work well for making nut milks with, and whatever you can find for the best price will suffice.

001

* I doubled this recipe with 2lbs of almonds, and it yielded just over half a pitcher of milk for me.

Ingredients:

1 lb raw almonds
1 tsp vanilla extract, maple syrup, or raw honey

Yields: 3 Cups

Instructions For Hurom Juicer:

1. Soak raw almonds for at least 8 hours
2. Drain the water into another container and reserve
3. Pour boiling water over the nuts in a big bowl and let it sit for about 5 minutes
4. Drain the hot water and discard
5. Squeeze and rub the almonds between your thumb and fingers and the skin will easily come off (I did NOT do this step)
6. Juice the almonds together with the reserved water in the Hurom Slow Juicer, making sure to input equal parts water and nuts
7. Next, place cheesecloth or a sturdy nut milk bag (nylon mesh bag) in a big bowl and pour the almond milk into it
8. Hold the cheesecloth/bag closed at the top with one hand and squeeze out the strained almond milk into a container
9. Stir in the vanilla extract, maple syrup, or honey.
10. ENJOY!

Instructions For Vitamix:

1. Soak raw almonds for at least 8 hours
2. Drain the water into another container and reserve
3. Pour boiling water over the nuts in a big bowl and let it sit for about 5 minutes
4. Drain the hot water and discard

5. Place equal parts of almonds and reserved water into the Vitamix container. Be sure to blend thoroughly. (You may need to fill container 2 or more times, depending on how much milk you will be making.)

6. Next, place cheesecloth or a sturdy nut milk bag (nylon mesh bag) in a big bowl and pour the almond milk into it
7. Hold the cheesecloth/bag closed at the top with one hand and squeeze out the strained almond milk into a container
8. Stir in the vanilla extract, maple syrup, or honey.
9. ENJOY!

*I kept all of my pulp, since almonds aren’t cheap. I’m going to be using the pulp in other recipes, which I encourage all of you to do as well. That way it doesn’t go to waste.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Rayma! It’s called a Hurom juicer. Hurom is the brand name. You can find them on Amazon.com. Mine is the Hurom HU-100. I LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

