Pacific Natural Foods – Mac & Cheese And Pasta O’s Reviews

Standard

My family & I were fortunate enough to be selected to try & review Pacific’s new ready to eat entrees – Mac & Cheese and Pasta O’s. I’d like to say a big thank you to Pacific for choosing us to be taste testers, and for being such a generous company.

All of our family tasted both entrees, so I will give the comments that all of us made, as well as overall reviews for each entree.

001

Pacific all natural Mac & Cheese –

The ingredients for this product are: Filtered water, elbow macaroni (durum semolina (wheat), egg white, niacin, ferrous sulfate (iron), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin and folic acid, cheddar cheese (milk, cultures, salt, annatto), cornstarch, wheat flour, cream, butter (cream, cultures), sea salt, sodium phosphate, annatto (color).

My husband said that this lacked a cheesy enough flavor for him, and I agreed. I do love how creamy the texture is on this, and I like that the noodles are a generous size too, not chintzy like some other companies. I think if a little more cheese was added to this, I would’ve really loved it. My son liked this, my daughter didn’t like it at all, and my toddler gobbled it up and loved it. My son gives it a 4 out of 5 starts, my daughter a 1 star (I’m so sorry Pacific!), judging by my toddlers fondness of it, I’ll say she gives it a 5 star, and I will give it a 3 star. I would still purchase this, and then just add in some colby jack or cheddar to make it a bit cheesier. It is a huge improvement over Kraft, and I know that I would feel so much better serving this one to my family.

002

Pacific all natural Pasta O’s –

The ingredients in this product are: Filtered water, tomato puree (water, tomato paste), pasta (semolina [wheat], water, egg white), vegetable juice concentrate (carrot juice concentrate, celery juice concentrate, red beet juice concentrate, parsley juice, lettuce juice, watercress juice, spinach juice concentrate), cornstarch, cream, cane sugar, olive oil, sea salt, onion powder, garlic powder.

I have to preface this review by saying that we do not typically purchase this sort of product. That is because none of us are fond of any of the other options available. Chef Boyardee is just plain gross and fake tasting, and Annie’s is better, but still not a real hit with the kids, or the grown ups in our home. So with that being said, on to the reviews!

My husband said that he really liked this, and again, I agree with him. The texture is completely different from the competitors’ products. This has a nicer, thicker texture, which lends itself nicely to the pasta o’s. There is an underlying hint of sweetness, which is also nice, but not overkill. I also like that there are so many vegetables in this. My husband, son, daughter, and I all give it 4 out of 5 stars, and my toddler gives it 5 stars (again, based on the way that she was chowing down on it).

So there you have it! These are great ready made meals that are healthier counterparts to other varieties out there. Pacific tells me that these are currently available in the western part of the U.S., and will soon be available in the east in April of this year. These come in tetra paks instead of cans, so no worries of BPA, and are also recyclable at some recycling centers too.

Thank you again to Pacific for choosing us to do this review. Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

