Hungry For Change Movie

Standard

hungryforchange

I just finished watching this movie and I must say, “Wow!” Everything that was said during the first half of the movie was things that I had already known. But the last half of the movie is so life changing for me.

I am one of the kinds of people that they describe in the movie. I’ve been overweight since about the age of 4, and have tried everything to get this weight off of me. I did diet pills, programs, ate healthy, cut portion sizes, exercised faithfully 4-6 days per week, and even had a lap band installed around my stomach. The lap band has helped me some, but I am still extremely overweight, and have a long way to go before I will be what’s considered a healthy weight.

I think the part of the movie that hit home the most is the part where they tell you to look into the mirror 2 times per day and say, “I accept myself unconditionally right now.” I cannot remember a time in my life when I really remember truly loving myself. That speaks volumes!

The movie also suggests visualizing how you want yourself to look at the end of the weightloss process. I’ve heard this before but never really put much stock in it. But the way that they explained it really makes a lot of sense to me. I believe that when I can really see myself for how I want to look, it will not only inspire me to continue with the healthy lifestyle each day, but it will also give me an end goal vision to work towards too.

The movie made another profound statement that really hit home. “Love for ourselves & others is the most important thing in keeping our weight off.” I think that too many times as mothers, we are taught that self sacrifice is the ultimate thing that we can do for our children. That by sacrificing everything that encompasses taking care of ourselves, we are somehow bettering our children – and this could not be any further from the truth! What a major realization! If I am investing in my own health, my own self preservation – doing all that I can to be as healthy physically, emotionally, and spiritually as I can possibly be – then I am ensuring that I am putting my best foot forward for my children. I will undoubtedly be a much better mother to and for my children! The same obviously applies for fathers too. And even if you are not a mother or father, you will still be investing into yourself, being the best YOU that you can be!

Beyond these wonderful thoughts from the movie, I was so excited by the list of detox foods that they provided for people who might want to begin detoxifying their bodies of all of the toxins, chemicals, etc. that we as a society ingest on a daily basis (not only from our food supply, but also from our personal care products, medicines, and environments/pollution). I have noticed that there is so much advertising lately on Facebook for detoxing, and though I knew what the basic premise of detox was, I never fully understood why it is so important to do it. Here is a list of foods that they suggest using for detoxification purposes:

*Green Vegetables (Kale, Collards, etc.)

*Chlorophyll Rich Foods

*Chia Seeds

*Aloe Vera

*Seaweeds

*Parsley

*Cilantro/Coriander

*Spirulina & Chlorella

The movie also suggests foods that a person can eat & minerals that a person can ingest for beautification purposes. Here is that list as well:

*Olive Oil & Olives

*Cucumbers

*Radishes

*Hemp Seeds

*Aloe Vera

*Coconut Products (Coconut Oil, Coconut Milk, Coconut Water, Coconut “Meat”, etc.)

*Yogurt (Yogurt that is not laden with oodles of sugar.)

*Kimchi (A Korean dish made of vegetables, such as cabbage or radishes, that are salted, seasoned, and stored in sealed containers to undergo lactic acid fermentation.)

*Sourkraut

*Sprouted Seeds

*Silica

*Iron

*Manganese

*Sulfur

So a big & special thanks to the creators of this movie, and for sharing all that they did in it. I find this information to be life changing, and am looking forward to fully ingesting it all and putting it to good use.

Yours in Health, Healthified Living

P.S. I should add that what I’ve written here really only covers the 2nd half of the movie. I would strongly suggest watching this on Netflix if you haven’t already, so that you can get the full scope of it. The 1st half is equally important, especially to those that are new to healthier living.

Leave a Reply

