Super Chunky Cherry Chocolate Vanilla Ice Cream (easy no machine required)

Standard

I wanted to come up with a refreshing, yet super easy ice cream recipe that EVERYONE could enjoy, with no ice cream maker required. I also wanted to be able to sit down and eat a bowl of ice cream with a little substance to it – hence the super chunky part of the name. Chocolate cherry is a well known and well liked version of ice cream, and I knew that I could Healthify it, by using real cherries and a basic ingredient vanilla ice cream. Non Lacto Vegetarians and Vegans can use a soy or rice based ice cream instead, and dairy free chocolate too.

003

Super Chunky Cherry Chocolate Vanilla Ice Cream

Ingredients:

* A healthier version of vanilla ice cream. I used Blue Bunny Premium All Natural Vanilla (contains only milk, cream, skim milk, sugar, eggs yolks, natural vanilla extract and vanilla bean specks)

* Cherries (you will need to cut them in half and remove the pits)

* Chocolate wafers/chips/disks/pieces/etc. (use dark chocolate for a healthier chocolate)

 

Instructions:

Place a layer of vanilla ice cream, cherry halves, and chocolate wafers in a mason jar. Repeat layers until you reach the desired quantity. Enjoy! It really is that simple!

 

P.S. I realize that my ice cream still contains sugar, which may be a turn off for some people. I do not have a way to make vanilla ice cream, and searched high and low for the healthiest option available to me, here where I live. This was the healthiest and cleanest version I could find, so I had to take what I could get.

 

002

001

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

