Vanilla Bean Milk (Dairy Free)

Standard

I originally found this recipe here. When I first saw this recipe my initial reaction was, “Ew!”. But after I thought about it some, I realized that I needed to give this one a try. I think that it’s an excellent recipe to have on hand in the event of running out of coconut, almonds, other nuts, rice, etc… It works when shorthanded on the items to make the preferred milks.

The consistency of this reminds me of rice milk, only not quite as thick. It smells absolutely putrid after blending, but the smell goes away after cooking. I strained mine twice and skimmed the foam off the top of it as well, and I would suggest doing that, to ensure that all of the bean shells/casings are removed, as well as all of the pulp.

I made this milk according to the directions, with the only exception being that I used agave nectar instead of maple syrup, simply because that’s what I had on hand. After tasting it I realized that my children would never drink it as is, so I added a 1/2 cup of raw sugar to it (hence the brownish tinge to my picture of the milk), to help sweeten it up just a bit for them. My husband really liked this, and said that he would drink it as is. My daughter liked it just fine, and said that she’d use it for cereal and oatmeal. My son didn’t seem to like it at all, even after I had thinned it out some. I personally do not mind the taste, and I would use it in a bind for drinking (I preferred it more for just drinking, after I had thinned it out some), as well as over cereal and in oatmeal, and in other recipes calling for milk.

004

003

Vanilla Bean Milk

Ingredients
  • ½ cup dried mild-tasting beans (I used Great Northern)
  • ½ tblsp lemon juice
  • 4 cup purified water, divided, plus more for soaking the beans
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tblsp maple syrup or agave nectar
  • 12 drops liquid stevia
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar (optional)
Instructions
  1. Place the beans and lemon juice in a bowl.
  2. Cover the beans with water, and let them soak for 12-24 hours.
  3. Drain and rinse the beans.
  4. Add the beans and three cups of water to a blender, and blend for about 2 minutes until it appears smooth.
  5. Strain the mixture through a fine sieve or nut milk bag, removing the bean pulp.
  6. Heat a pot over medium heat, and add the bean milk.
  7. Stirring constantly, warm the bean milk for 10 minutes. Be really careful to not let the mixture come to a rolling boil, only a low simmer. Otherwise, the milk will scald, and will taste burned.
  8. Stir in the final cup of water, vanilla, salt, maple syrup, and stevia (and raw sugar if using).
  9. Cool.
  10. Pour into a storage container, and store in the fridge.
2 responses »

Leave a Reply

